The 78 cards of The Tarot, and in particular The Major Arcana, can provide great insight into the human psyche and the quest for enlightenment and spiritual transformation. The Major Arcana can be used on its own for purposes of spiritual development, but the four suits of the Minor Arcana (Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles) can also provide valuable insight, as each suit (like the elements they represent) has higher meanings in addition to the usual mundane interpretations.

Some keys are given for reading each card both upright and reversed, so that guidance can be sought and understood. The aim is to help you, the seeker, understand yourself and your journey in this life.

This is not for fortune telling, but of course you may do whatever you wish ;)

credits: This explanation of The Tarot is based on the US reproduction of The Rider pack as produced by A E Waite and Pamela Coleman Smith for The Golden Dawn. My commentary is largely original, but draws heavily on "Seventy-Eight Degrees of Wisdom" by Rachel Pollack.

The Major Arcana

While the four suits of the Minor Arcana (Wands,Cups,Swords, and Pentacles), represent all aspects of mundane life on Earth, The Major Arcana deals with the higher realms of spirit, depicting the spiritual journey from innocence to enlightenment.


Wands symbolise the element of fire, and thus the spiritual essence of life. The Wand cards show how this inner fire manifests in ordinary mundane life, in the form of virility, passion, action, movement, optimism, adventure, and new beginnings.

Wands, like Swords, while representing yin (expansive) elements, indicate yang (active) situations.


Cups symbolise the element of water, and thus love, joy, and other feelings, reflection, and quiet experiences. On a more mundane level cups represent emotions, friendship, fantasy, and passivity.

Cups, like Pentacles, while representing yang (dense) elements, indicate yin (passive) situations.


Swords symbolise the element of air.

On a spiritual level, Swords represent clarity of intellect, and communication skills.

On a mundane level swords represent mental activity, conflict, anger, and sadness.


Pentacles symbolise the element of earth.

Pentacles represent magical and spiritual understanding, and being rooted and connected with nature.

On a mundane level, they represent the natural world, stability, money, possessions, work, commerce, and routine activities.


Court cards represent people - maybe those who will influence your life, or maybe yourself.

Celtic Cross Spread

based on: https://www.biddytarot.com/how-to-read-the-celtic-cross-tarot- spread/

The cross

The Circle/Cross shows what is going on in the querent’s life at the time of the reading. This section is made up of two crosses – a central one (Cards 1